Summer 2022

My on-going health problems meant that we spent much time at home until July 2022. We installed a garden room/log cabin in our bungalow garden. By June 2022 it was complete.

Following some different hospital treatment my health stabilised and I managed to attend my daughter’s wedding in July 2022.

A week later in mid July we went on the family holiday at the seaside. The holiday was booked 6 months ago with optimism that I’d be well enough to go. Luckily my new treatment just started to work before both the wedding and the holiday.

We had glorious weather for the Harborough at War event in August 2022.

My disease appears to be in remission at the moment although my muscles remain wasted which makes everyday tasks difficult. We’ve made the most of the summer by getting out and about locally. The grand children, Arthur and Henry, have accompanied us on most trips.

In August we visited the Leicester Museum and Art Gallery to see the dinosaurs, Egyptians and minerals.

We also took advantage of the children’s activity morning in the Harborough Museum. The boys enjoyed stamping Roman coins.

Another ‘free to enter’ museum in Leicester is Abbey Pumping Station. The boys loved the ‘fake poo’ with the toilet and we showed them how to change the points on the miniature railway track although trains were not operating that day.

We all agreed that a return visit on a railway day would be good.

Leave a comment